I wrote this before the recent troubles, and decided to hold off on posting for a few days. I’m posting it now, but it’s not very indicative of my current state of mind. I’ll blog about my thoughts on the potential changes sometime this weekend.

 

 

I’ve written about names before, about my internal struggle whether to keep my future child’s name or to change it. Now that my child is no longer a future child but an actual child, with a real name and a history of her own, it was time to make a decision. I can’t reveal her name on the blog just yet, but I have mentioned her name on the WH yahoo group and if I know you IRL, then I’m sure you’ve heard it. It’s a pretty common Ethiopian name, starts with the letter T, and it means “she is blessed.” If you were so inclined, you could find it out.

So yeah, I’m keeping it. Honestly, it wasn’t even much of a struggle. I’m not gonna lie, the first time I heard I was all, “hmm, I don’t think I like that name very much.” My friends’ and family’s initial reactions weren’t exactly promising, along the lines of, “you are going to change her name, right?” So I was conflicted for about a day, maybe 2 days. When I found myself defending her name, “well, I know it’s different, but it has such a nice meaning, plus it’s her name, I can’t just…” that’s when I knew that I couldn’t change it, no way.

I’ve quickly come to love her name. I think it’s beautiful, I love the meaning, and it suits her, based on what little I can discern of her personality from photographs. I did come up with a cute little nickname that a) satisfies my urge to put my own stamp on her name, and b) is American-sounding and easy to pronounce. That works for me, I’m happy with that compromise.

As for the rest, I’m going to keep her last name as her middle – which is, of course, her father’s name. I’m also considering adding her mother’s name as a second middle name – it’s quite pretty and I think it would be lovely to honor her in that way.

