First off, thanks for all the comments on the Resolutions post! I’m so happy that people are reading and commenting here in my little corner of the blogosphere. I can’t express how much it means to me!

 

Okay, now for the topic of the day. Just a heads up: it’s not at all adoption-related, so feel free to scoot if this isn’t your cup of tea. [Speaking of adoption: no news to share. Just re-doing my effing dossier. Yeah, good times.]

 

I’m sure I’ve mentioned this once or twice, that I cleaned up my diet about a year or so ago? Prior to, I had been eating the typical American diet of garbage, more garbage, and cool ranch Doritos. Something had to be done: I was always sick with one cold after another, I was packing on the pounds, and I had zero energy. There’s no way I’d have been able to keep up with a new baby feeling the way I felt last year. So I made some radical changes in my diet and was able to eliminate refined sugar altogether, and restrict my starch intake to whole grains only. My diet now basically consists of grass fed meats, whole grains, natural sweeteners, and lots of locally grown, organic fruits and veggies. Best thing I ever did for myself. The impact on my immune system and energy level was astounding. Not only that, but the weight started to drop off, my workouts improved, I sleep great – I can’t say enough about the improvement to my quality of life.

 

But,being human, I’ve let things slide a bit, and the occasional treat has become the regular cheat. My once-limited consumption of whole grains and naturally sweetened treats has devolved into all starch, all the time. Since I have PCOS-related insulin resistance (ie, starch is not my friend), I’ve been feeling lethargic and sleepy and a more-than-a-little run down lately. I partially blame my backslide on the season: my winter CSA box has been comprised of nothing but starchy vegetables (potatoes, beets, and butternut squash in my last pick up) with the occasional cabbage, radish or leafy green thrown in for variety. But also, I love bread, – it’s my downfall. Every. Time. My problem can be summarized thusly: the more starch I eat, the more I crave it, and the more I crave it, the more I eat it – it’s a downward spiral into lethargy, weight gain, and illness. (I’m speaking only for myself here. Ymmv, of course.)

 

So, I need to cut some starch from my diet. But since I never do things halfway (have you noticed that about me yet?), I’m seriously considering trying the whole30 plan. In a nutshell, whole30 is no grains, no legumes, no dairy, no sweetener (of any kind), no processed anything – squeeeaky clean eating for 30 days. Grass fed meats, wild caught seafood, healthy fats, nuts, fruits and veggies – that’s it. No additives, strict limits on preservatives, absolutely no soy. It’s based on the paleo/primal diet that’s so trendy with Crossfitters nowadays. (Full disclosure: I don’t crossfit, but I really dig the concept and plan to check out a class soon, if I can ever find the time.) Personally, I think the whole “eat like a caveman, what would Grok do” stuff is rather silly, jmho. But I do subscribe to the philosophy that the best way to break a bad habit is to go cold turkey, rather than try to cut down incrementally. And this plan certainly achieves that objective. I fully intend to reintroduce foods back in later – but responsibly, and not too much. And when things start to slide and get out of balance – and they always do – that’s when it time to get strict again and start over from scratch. That’s exactly how I was able to break my addiction to refined sugar, and now it’s time to break my addiction to starch. I know it seems extreme, but I like a challenge. Whole30 is far stricter than anything I’ve ever done before, however. To be honest, I’m really nervous about cutting dairy, since I love me some cheese. But coffee and tea are allowed, thank goodness (maybe I’ll tackle that addiction my next go-round). No doubt about it, this is going to be tough, even for a clean eater like myself.

 

Okay, I guess I’ve talked myself into it. I need to do some planning before I get started, and use up whatever illegal foods are currently in my fridge. In a week or two, I should be good to go. It’s only for 30 days, I can do anything for 4 measly weeks. Right?

 

 

