My sincere apologies for the lack of posts this week. Craziness at my job and some gorgeous spring weather have conspired to keep me away from my laptop. Here are a few things that are on my mind at moment, some of which I’ll expand on in separate posts over the next few days.

  • I decided to make this stew today, with a couple of modifications. I added mushrooms because I seriously love them, and I added some parsnips and cut down on the number of potatoes.  Also, I left out the wine because I didn’t have any in the house- it should be fine without it, right? I’ve never made stew from scratch before, I’ve only ever bought frozen stew with the high fructose sauce packets. But I’m trying to avoid processed foods after reading this book and watching this movie; the only problem is that I don’t really know how to cook! I’m going to be so disappointed if it turns out awful. At least the condo smells awesome, like garlic. Mmm.

 

  • There’s a hugely important adoption ethics discussion going on over at the Big ET Board. If you haven’t been following it, you really should. My nerves are too raw, my emotions just a little too close to the surface, to contribute to that discussion in an adult, productive way. I do want to post about it here, though, because it’s hugely important – I just need to organize my thoughts and let my emotions settle. In the meantime, Carey has started a blog with the intent to help people find ethical agencies. I think it’s a great idea and I hope it helps people. I do worry that she’s preaching to the choir, though; some people just prefer to wear blinders.

 

  • My copy of Colloquial Amharic arrived on Thursday. Yay! I love language – foreign languages, linguistics, grammar. I love how words sound, regardless of meaning, which is a weird thing to say and yet it’s absolutely true. Learning Amharic has been a goal of mine for a long time and I’m excited to finally have some time to focus on it. I’m also looking forward to practicing with native speakers on my two trips to Ethiopia! Just an fyi if you buy this book from Amazon: despite what the reviews say, CDs are not included. You have to go to this site and purchase the MP3s separately.

 

  • If you’ve read my About Me page, then you probably noticed that I call myself a liberal. I don’t want to make this blog about politics, but it’s a big part of who I am, and today happens to be a busy day in Washington, D.C. If you’re interested in Health Care Reform, I recommend Ezra Klein’s blog for comprehensive coverage on the subject.

 

  • And lastly, a few maintenance notes.  I’m not the most tech-savvy person, so please bear with me while I learn WordPress.  I plan to add some widgets and pictures and things like that, add some pretty to B2C.  And I need to add an rss feed thingee and a contact me button.  Most importantly, I can’t figure out how to allow comments without moderation – does anyone know?  I love that people are commenting, and I hate to leave anyone’s comment hanging if I happen to be offline!
