2007

This is when I first decided to adopt from Ethiopia. I started lurking on the various yahoo groups, began researching agencies, and tried to save money for the adoption.

2008

Liz: The Dark Years Year One

When rumors started circulating that Ethiopian adoption might close to single parents, I decided to take on a part time job in retail and step up my savings so that I could start the adoption process sooner. I cut expenses to the bone (no Netflix, no Starbucks, no lots of things); I lived on cheap carbs; and I did little more than work, sleep, and read adoption blogs. It wasn’t the happiest time of my life, but I was determined and I don’t regret a minute of it. I officially signed on with my agency in November of 2008.

2009

Liz: The Dark Years Year Two

2009 started out as a carbon copy of 2008, with the addition of finally being in process with my adoption agency. I completed my home study in April, started compiling my dossier, and after a few delays, finally joined the official wait list for a child of either gender 0-18 months on July 2nd, 2009. My agency’s time frame is 12-18 months, so tentatively I expect to receive a referral at the end of 2010. And I was able quit my part time job right right before Thanksgiving, officially ending Liz: The Dark Years – yay!

2010

My 8 month wait-aversary was a few days ago, which means I’ve basically reached the halfway mark! Despite all the rumors about ET adoption closing to singles, my agency is still processing single adoptions and every day that goes by is another day’s reprieve from the (inevitable) closure. I’ve been doing a lot of reading about parenting and attachment; and now that I have some spare time, I plan on learning a little Amharic. I’m hopeful that I will receive a referral this year.

